Strict liability - please sign petition

chiefsub68

Strict liability - please sign petition

Post by chiefsub68 »

Hi

I've been campaigning for nearly 20 years, and I think strict liability on motorists' insurance policies will be an important factor in changing driver attitudes and general road user behaviour.

CTC has this on back burner at the moment, but I have a petition at the No 10 website to try to bring the matter forward. Please sign ... it's at http://petitions.pm.gov.uk/roadsafety9

Regards

Will (www.colchester-cycling.org.uk)

Your petition reads:

We the undersigned petition the Prime Minister to improve road
safety by introducing strict liability for motorists in
collisions

Youngsters are being asked to walk or cycle to school to be
green and reduce jams.

Walking and cycling are generally safe but parents will worry -
if they are brave enough to let youngsters be independent.

The perception of safety has to be improved.

Lower speeds and extra road education will play a part but this
petition is calling for a change to strict liability laws on
drivers’ insurance policies.

At present, in a car - bike/pedestrian collision, the cyclist
or pedestrian (probably the worst injured) has to prove the
motorist was reckless.

We want that burden of proof switched so the motorist –
choosing to use a ton of metal at speed – has to prove the
cyclist or pedestrian was at fault.

This only applies to insurance claims. In criminal law, drivers
in collisions remain innocent until proven guilty.

This rule exists in many EU countries with more walking and
cycling, and a better child road safety record, Let’s raise
driving standards and create better road user attitudes.
meic

Post by meic »

I am a bit confused about how it would be used in a civil case as the judge will weigh each case individually and decide what he deems to have happened.