Power meters

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
Jon in Sweden

Power meters

Post by Jon in Sweden »

I'm quite new to the power meter game and wondered how you other folk with these new fangled gadgets use them in training?

I've got one on my road bike and one on my main commuting bike. Just your bog standard LH crank single sided affair.

Being a numbers geek, I'm really enjoying this additional layer of information. It's incredibly interesting to see just how much of an effect a headwind/tailwind or slight incline will have on any effort to maintain a steady speed. Today (for example), I commuted to and from work wiht precisely the same power output. A modest tailwindwind on the way in, and the opposite on the way back. 2.4kph difference in speed, at 266w.

I am certainly one who's inclined to push too hard, too much of the time. I'm hoping that having the power meter means I'll stop pushing so hard on inclines and try to maintain a steady power output.

Either way, what have been your best and worst reflections and experiences of using a power meter?
Cugel

Re: Power meters

Post by Cugel »

Jon in Sweden wrote: 29 Jan 2024, 4:04pm I'm quite new to the power meter game and wondered how you other folk with these new fangled gadgets use them in training?

I've got one on my road bike and one on my main commuting bike. Just your bog standard LH crank single sided affair.

Being a numbers geek, I'm really enjoying this additional layer of information. It's incredibly interesting to see just how much of an effect a headwind/tailwind or slight incline will have on any effort to maintain a steady speed. Today (for example), I commuted to and from work wiht precisely the same power output. A modest tailwindwind on the way in, and the opposite on the way back. 2.4kph difference in speed, at 266w.