My bike is steel

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
Pinhead

My bike is steel

Post by Pinhead »

I have never been "into" cars or bikes, cameras yes I am a so called professional Photo Journalist, shooting for magazines and press but anything else, no.

However years back I bought a steel frame and had the shop build me a bike, you have seen it many times.

I was purely out of interests looking at the sticker on it I know it is Reynolds 853 steel, and for the first time ever, this is 100% true, last night I used my phone for the first time EVER to google and read something, 64, had phones since the first luggables, only ever for talk and text, and I read about Reynolds steel frames.

Steel is supposedly (isn't everything) one of THE (not shouting, emphasising!) best materials for bikes.

Is this still true or a hornets nest.

Thanks.
Attachments
P1050175 (2019_06_14 13_02_52 UTC).jpg
life frame.jpg
AUTISTIC and proud
pwa

Re: My bike is steel

Post by pwa »

It is debatable. At one time it was all there was available for most people, and the posher steel types (like your 853) stretched what steel could do. 853 manages to remain strong whilst also being drawn relatively thin, so it can make a relatively un-heavy frame.

On bikes using narrow high pressure tyres it used to be desirable to have some flex in the frame and forks to make up for the hardness of the tyres, but I think that property is no longer as important, now that bikes have tended to go towards wider, lower pressure tyres. Narrow steel tubes were good at giving that flex. Now you can get the flex from the tyres instead, so that benefit of steel isn't so important.

Steel can last a long time, for some people. Not for me, sadly. My steel frames have all rusted. But you may be one of the lucky ones who find it doesn't.

On a bike like yours, with generous tyres, I doubt you can feel the difference between Reynolds 853 steel and decent aluminium alloy.
Cugel

Post by Cugel »