cyclists should get off road onto the provided cyclepaths

Commuting, Day rides, Audax, Incidents, etc.
mhara

cyclists should get off road onto the provided cyclepaths

Post by mhara »

This letter is now on the newspaper's website and open for comments.
Any chance some suitable replies could be posted on the newspaper's web?

Devon County Council has spent millions of pounds creating cycle lanes for the safety of cyclists, and to help the flow of traffic.

But a lot still ride on the road and have a complete disregard for the motorists who get frustrated sitting behind them.The county council should bring in a by-law that says if a cycle lane is there cyclists must use it or be fined.

Otherwise, rip up all the cycle lanes and widen the road.

The cyclists would be the first to moan if an accident happened and they got hurt when a perfectly good cycle lane was next to them.

And before anyone says I'm just a car driver having a moan, I'm not - I cycle to work every day and I am disgusted at the cyclists that ride in the road and the ones that ride through red lights.

Let's clamp down on these rogue cyclists and make them use the facilities provided for them.

http://www.thisisexeter.co.uk/displayNode.jsp?nodeId=137329&command=displayContent&sourceNode=137080&contentPK=20934015&folderPk=79957&pNodeId=153652
Dean

Post by Dean »

My response:

Devon County Council has spent millions of pounds creating roads for the benefit of all, and to help the flow of traffic.

But a lot of motorists still have a complete disregard for other road uses, and as a cyclist I get frustrated with motorists who don't acknowledge my right to share the roadspace.

The county council would be better off ripping up all the cycle lanes and widening the road.

The motorists would be the first to moan if an accident happened where a cyclist attempted to cross via a cycle route and they got hurt when a perfectly good road was next to them.