Changing rear hub bearings 2009 road Fulcrum hub.

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Gearoidmuar

Changing rear hub bearings 2009 road Fulcrum hub.

Post by Gearoidmuar »

This was a nightmare for me. I've extensive experience of old hubs and even used to dismantle old freehub bodies, but this was unexplored territory and I was misled by an incorrect diagram on-line. I eventually worked out what was what. It took me ages. It would take you no time at all if you had a good explanation, so here goes. Problem was wobbly wheel on its axle. Too much play. Obvious bearing gone.

Very simply, the hub is constucted as follows.

From the Drive side. Quick release and skewer, Axle with fused nut. Narrow washer, freehub bearing, of slightly smaller diameter than axle bearings, freehub which sits in a toothed bay with external pawls. This assembly is covered by a narrow seal on the freehub body. This is the crucial bit. Behind this is a wider washer which keeps back of the freehub, just, from meeting the underlying main bearing which is slugly fitted in the hub body. On the other side of this is a long tubular washer and then on the other side the second bearing, a thin silver cap which fits over that with an inner protuberant bit facing outwards, then another thickish washer and then the nut which screws into the axle. That's it. The key thing which was wrong was that the second fattish washer which from the diagram appeared to be inside the second thinnest one, outside the left bearing, in fact keeps the freehub body clear of the main bearing, just on the other side. This may mean nothing to you now, but when you have the thing in pieces and are scratching your head, it should all become clear.
The difficulty arises in that you have to hammer it apart and next thing, it happens so fast you can't note what's happened.

It worked. Wheel perfect. It took me two hours of messing.