Bicycle for Road Bumps on Tarmac - Beginner Question

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
AdamOfLondon

Bicycle for Road Bumps on Tarmac - Beginner Question

Post by AdamOfLondon »

I am a beginner, I owned a bike before but I didn't use it a lot because it wasn't comfortable.

I am looking for a bicycle for daily commute to work, the daily route includes:

- Bumps on the tarmac
- Steep Hill (good on the way to work, not so good on the way back!)
- 90% tarmac, 10% curb

I am not sure what I should look for in a bicycle that reduces bump shocks, accommodates hills, good on tarmac, budget is around £400. Any recommendations of a bicycle model and/or the components that I need to insure this criteria is met?

N.B. Framesize 19"
Brucey

Re: Bicycle for Road Bumps on Tarmac - Beginner Question

Post by Brucey »

when you say 10% curb, do you mean that you will spend 10% of your time riding up and down over kerbs?

No bike is built for that... not one you would want to pedal up and down hills, anyway...

You don't say how far you have to ride, and if you will do it in all weathers, darkness etc.

cheers
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Brucey~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
AdamOfLondon

Post by AdamOfLondon »

Hi Brucey,

I meant the pavement not the curb :)

2 miles distance. Any recommendations?

Regards
Jeff31

Post by Jeff31 »

Hi Adam

If you want something to iron out the bumps then you should be looking at fatter tyres, at least 32mm, which will give you suspension without the cost or weight of actual suspension. Some low gears would help with the hill and if you are going to cycle in all weathers the ability to fit proper mudguards should be considered. Also consider if you will need to carry loads, a few tools and a waterproof can go in a saddle or back pack but if you are going to carry more, ie do your shopping on the way home then maybe you will want a pannier rack.