Fabric Fairings for a Recumbent Trike

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Mick Metcalfe

Fabric Fairings for a Recumbent Trike

Post by Mick Metcalfe »

Trying to look around he net, albeit very unsuccessfully, I am after a fairing for an ICE Trike Adventurer that will fit with the ICE Helping Handles.

I have seen that the Windwrap WGX is a popular fairing, but unsure if it would fit with the helping handles. I am still awaiting my order of the trike (3-4 wks now) so it would be great if I could source accessories prior to getting it, so I'm all sorted for a mini adventure when it arrives. :)

The only thing is though, the price of the fairings are pretty steep imho and was interested in sourcing a fabric one, that should prove lighter and more manageable as I am disabled. Also no scratches, washable, lighter etc are all things I think would benefit a fairing and help reduce the price. Ive not seen any Tadpole trike style fabric fairings, but I'm new to cycling and I feel I may still be looking in the wrong areas.

Additionally, does anyone know of a decent cycle flag making company?

Cheers

Mick
Cunobelin

Re: Fabric Fairings for a Recumbent Trike

Post by Cunobelin »

Flags...

I have had a brilliant relationship with Helen at Raindrop Kites for many years.

Discuss what you want, size and shape and she can make the flag for you

Look at the recumbent page - the yellow dragon flag is my 1994 trice, and the Celtic Flags are my latest design

The blue was for the Gekko and the red for the Kettwiesel

They are held in place by a tie and a clip available from a kite shop

As for the GX- I have used it on a number of trikes from the Expedition, Gekko and now the Kettwiesel

If you buy the tilting mounting then it can accommodate mounting by tilting forward, but there may be clearance problems with the helping handles when in the riding mode

Fabric fairings are a similar issue with these extensions