replacement saddle

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
webber

replacement saddle

Post by webber »

ive got a sprung lepper saddle much like the brooks flyer which the rail has snapped again so im looking for a replacement but im not sure whether to go for a brooks flyer or velo orange model 5 or whether to get a b17 or spa nidd i like the sprung saddle as they give a bit of comfort on the ruff stuff but would a suspension seat post with a b17 etc be better im not worried about weight to much any help would be greatly appreciated :)
Vantage

Re: replacement saddle

Post by Vantage »

I've been using a cheapo Zoom suspension post for nearly 3 years now and can say without a doubt, it helps take the sting out of the UK's roads and trail rides.
I have that coupled with a Nidd, but it's been heavily 'modified' with a diy perineal area cut out and the laces undone slightly for more 'give'. The tension bolt has also been slackened off a touch.
Nidd's are seriously tough. John Wayne could've designed them.
Saddle choice though is about as personal as you can get when it comes to picking bike components.
Bill

“Ride as much or as little, or as long or as short as you feel. But ride.” ~ Eddy Merckx
It's a rich man whos children run to him when his pockets are empty.
Suffolker

Post by Suffolker »

webber wrote:ive got a sprung lepper saddle much like the brooks flyer which the rail has snapped again so im looking for a replacement but im not sure whether to go for a brooks flyer or velo orange model 5 or whether to get a b17 or spa nidd i like the sprung saddle as they give a bit of comfort on the ruff stuff but would a suspension seat post with a b17 etc be better im not worried about weight to much any help would be greatly appreciated :)