'Sealed Bearing' Hubs?

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
deliquium

'Sealed Bearing' Hubs?

Post by deliquium »

Anyone had experience of hubs like these where the cartridge bearings appear to rely on their integral seal to keep water out?

Any thoughts?

Click on images for larger versions
Attachments
Dia-Compe-LF.jpg
Zenith-LF.jpg
Current pedalable joys

"you would be surprised at the number of people in these parts who nearly are half people and half bicycles"
531colin

Re: 'Sealed Bearing' Hubs?

Post by 531colin »

How close is the left flange to the dropout? (too close = too dished)

The "sealed"....(read...no user serviceable parts) bearings in a couple of pairs of Sachs hubs I have been using for several years have been problem free, with no very convincing additional weather-sealing. I have drilled the hub barrels to pump them up with grease, but no grease comes out past the bearings, so I don't think much grease actually reaches the bearings.....if the bearings fail, I could replace them with new bearings, and remove the "inner" bearing seal, so grease introduced into the hub barrel reaches the bearings.
Now I think about it, one pair of hubs was second hand when I got them, and I replaced the front bearings which were rusty, the other front hub developed a bit of play due to a slack fit between the bearing and the axle.....Locktite seems to have fixed it.
gaz

Post by gaz »

My Suntour XC hubs have dust covers over the cartridge bearing seals. The covers keep crud off but they won't stop water. Many years all weather service.

Suzue tandem hubs rely on just the integral cartridge bearing seal to keep water out.
High on a cocktail of flossy teacakes and marmalade
deliquium

Post by deliquium »

531colin wrote:How close is the left flange to the dropout? (too close = too dished)