Chain question.

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
student

Chain question.

Post by student »

It seems that few of us in the town will have a collective order from bike24, therefore I'd intend to get some chainz for 8spd drivetrain.

choices:
sram 850 and 870
connexx wippermann 804 or 808

from the four, the wippermann is the most expensive

http://www.bike24.com/1.php?content=8;n ... ;orderby=2

and the cheapest is the 850 from sram:

http://www.bike24.com/1.php?content=8;s ... oduct=7733

which should I pick? I'd needthe chain to last long :) shifting performance is not that important as longevity. Post would be free as well.

regards and thanks for any input.

cheers.
I'm located outside the UK. Never been there, not even considering getting a work there once I have my degree. :)
gaz

Re: Chain question.

Post by gaz »

My opinion of general forum chatter is that the Wippermann quick link is easier to open by hand than the SRAM version.

I've been riding a Wippermann 708 for the last 12 months and have been largely unimpressed. I was riding a SRAM PC870 for around 10 months prior to that and was definitely unimpressed, although I'm going to try again shortly in the hope that I got one from a bad batch.

My chain maintenance regime is best described as fit and forget with the occasional 3-in-1 oily rag. Running mid 90's five speed equipment probably doesn't help either.
High on a cocktail of flossy teacakes and marmalade
Mick F
Spambuster

Post by Mick F »

I don't know any of those chains intimately.

I would suggest that you buy one mid-priced. I do wonder - and it has often been said - that the more expensive chains aren't any better, just look nicer.

Lubrication of any sort will do so long as the chain is kept clean.
This is easier said than done! :lol: