Cheap but decent lowrider rack

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Trigger

Cheap but decent lowrider rack

Post by Trigger »

In an ideal world I'd just stump up for a Tubus lowrider, but they're far too spendy for me. Is there anything cheap and good around? I've seen the Bor Yeuh at about £15-20, is that all there is in that price bracket?
The Mechanic

Re: Cheap but decent lowrider rack

Post by The Mechanic »

Tubus rack are high initial cost be very cost effective. There are guarantteed for 30 years and are very unlikely to let you down on tour. Go on, treat yourself.
Cancer changes your outlook on life. Change yours before it changes you.
PeterBL

Post by PeterBL »

I haven't got anything to compare with, but I have these and find no problems: http://www.rosebikes.co.uk/article/xtre ... aid:114147
tramponabike

Post by tramponabike »

Avenir Low Rider Alloy Front Pannier Rack £15.63

I have no experience of these but found them while looking for rear racks:-

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Avenir-Rider-Alloy-Front-Pannier/dp/B000RY0TUA/ref=pd_cp_sg_0

gaz

Post by gaz »

Please read CJ's remarks in this thread before considering either of the two linked above or any other budget low rider.
High on a cocktail of flossy teacakes and marmalade
CJ

Post by CJ »

gaz wrote:Please read CJ's remarks in this thread before considering either of the two linked above or any other budget low rider.

Yes please do read that thread. And please, for your own safety, do not use any front carrier where the side panels are not braced against sideways flapping by:

EITHER: an over-the-wheel strut that joins them together.

OR: a strut on each side panel that links its top front corner to an additional fixing bolt on the inner side of each fork blade, opposite the main fixing on the outer side.

Here is a picture of what happens to a bike when an un-braced front carrier suddenly comes loose enough to waggle into the wheel.
Damaged fork small.JPG