Alexrims DH19 (pics attached)

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
cvaughan

Alexrims DH19 (pics attached)

Post by cvaughan »

Hi,

I know I'm a newbie but I have followed this site quite closely and used it to help plan my 15 day lejog in June. For this, I brought a new bike, a Ridgeback Panorama, in October 2009 as a good quality tourer and to match my friends Dawes Super Galaxy. I have been impressed by the bike so far however the rear wheel hub appears to keep working loose and I have had to tighten it to stop it wobbling. This time, after tightening it, I have seen that it is still wobbling and on closer review, I can see that the rim has cracked quite badly in 3-4 points completely ruining the wheel!!!

I brought the bike as a tourer which is what it is advertised as and have done about 3000 miles on it. I have used it on road and on gravel tracks and never kerb hop. I don't think the quality of the wheels is good enough for a tourer having broken this quickly but just wanted an expert opinion on the matter??

Can anyone help?????

Last edited by cvaughan on 5 Aug 2010, 6:59am, edited 1 time in total.
thirdcrank

Re: Alexrims DH19

Post by thirdcrank »

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=31303

We had that thread about the rims last year with no negative posts. It's not at all clear to me the connection between loose hubs and cracked rims (OK, OK, spokes) but it sounds as though the wheel has been deteriorating in a couple of ways at once. If you can post some pics it might inspire people to post. As you feel it's not down to where you've been riding, it sounds like the way the wheels were built up.
531colin

Re: Alexrims DH19 (pics attached)

Post by 531colin »

If this bike is really less than 12 months old, the wheels are a disgrace. Take it back and get it fixed or replaced under warranty.
Sales of goods act, fitness for purpose, etc etc.