Carbon Bikes, Turbo Trainers???

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
Webbo154

Carbon Bikes, Turbo Trainers???

Post by Webbo154 »

Hi this is my first time on the forum and am reletively new to the cycle scene. I bought a planet x carbon cx bike to extend my outdoor cycling but also the route I ride to work is a puncture hazard zone.... I am looking at getting a turbo trainer to train during the winter, so contacted planet x regarding the spindle size I recalled it was longer than the normal ones. They have informed me that carbon fibre bikes should not be used on turbo trainers as it can cause the frame to twist and crack. Is this the case?? Help appreciated before I buy one as a christmas present. Also would this be the same for bkool trainers as well as the standard ones? Cheers and thanks in advance.
Brucey

Re: Carbon Bikes, Turbo Trainers???

Post by Brucey »

I think that if PX have told you that, if/when your frame breaks in that use, you are on your own.

Turbo trainers usually clamp the bike somewhere and wherever that is, it isn't a place that is really designed to have a clamp round it. Some folk won't even put a frame like that in a roof rack for similar reasons.

I'd suggest getting a tatty old bike (and a special rear tyre) to use on the turbo trainer.

If all you are worried about on the road is punctures, there are such things as very puncture resistant tyres, even in relatively skinny road bike sizes.

hth

cheers
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~Brucey~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
willcee

Post by willcee »