How to fix? - Derailleur got chewed!

For discussions about bikes and equipment.
redmat

How to fix? - Derailleur got chewed!

Post by redmat »

Hi CTC, newbie here... stumped.

Almost before I'd accelerated away from some traffic lights I had a nasty graunch from my rear wheel - my rear derailleur was inside my back wheel spokes!

I couldn't understand it at all until I noticed it wasn't the derailleur springs... the hanger bracket the derailleur screws into was bent!

Does anyone know how I can fix this in a meaningful way? Or if it can be fixed at all? or if it's even 'worth' fixing?!

Any and all input appreciated!

Thanks in advance from redmat

IMG_20151123_105211461.jpg
IMG_20151123_105211461.jpg (113.08 KiB) Viewed 1103 times

IMG_20151123_104637277.jpg
IMG_20151123_104637277.jpg (39.54 KiB) Viewed 1103 times

IMG_20151123_105119955.jpg
IMG_20151123_105119955.jpg (44.07 KiB) Viewed 1103 times

IMG_20151123_105319414.jpg

IMG_20151123_104851397.jpg
andrewjoseph

Re: How to fix? - Derailleur got chewed!

Post by andrewjoseph »

is that a steel frame or aluminium? I'm guessing steel. might be ok to bend back in with heat. if alu, i don't think bending back will work, most likely snap it off.
--
Burls Ti Tourer for tarmac
Saracen aluminium full suss for trails.
andrew_s

Post by andrew_s »

Bending it back is the only option, as the gear hanger is non-replaceable. What you want is to get it straight with as little back and forth bending as possible (i.e. don't bend too far, then have to bend back again).

Coarse straightening can be done with a big adjustable snugged down over the hanger, or by supporting the hanger on a brick, paving slab or similar, and hitting it with a lump hammer.
There are tools that screw into the derailleur threads for final alignment, with an arm that will swing round so you can check it's the same distance from the wheel rim all round, and which is strong enough to heave on the end of to actually do the alignment.