North or south ?

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
rannochraider

North or south ?

Post by rannochraider »

Hi folks, I'm in the Paisley area just a tad north of Glasgow. I'm new to Cycle touring, very new! Done a we bit of time trialling and a wee bit of 3/4 cat racing but not for a few years. I reckon I could say that I'm pretty unfit hoping to ride into a small degree of fitness during my tour.
I feel the need to 'bug out' for a fortnight or so and have a decent bike and panniers. I also have lots of outdoor clothes and a decent tent.
My question is this, I really love Scotland's West coast and I know it is generally damp but mild 'ish' about now, hoe does it compare with scenic routes into the north west or north east of England at this time of year?

If you were cycle touring these areas right now would you be carrying /wearing/ equipped with anything special ? Would you consider this 'run of the mill' touring or would there be a degree of survival / serious planning skilld required for a trip right now?

Appreciate your opinions
Cheers
Jim
Paulatic

Re: North or south ?

Post by Paulatic »

Definitely South!
I'd probably go as far as the Sth of France this time of year[emoji3]

Choosing from your options I'd choose the Nth West of England.
Reasons: it can be marginally warmer than the East
Definitely more bolt holes for bad weather than in Scotland.
You'll never be more than a days ride from a station that can whisk you back to Paisley.
Special equipment: take your wellies [emoji3]
Whatever I am, wherever I am, this is me. This is my life

https://stcleve.wordpress.com/category/lejog/
E2E info
Vorpal

Post by Vorpal »