Ridgeback Panorama vs Pearson Compass

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
Gavin Hill

Ridgeback Panorama vs Pearson Compass

Post by Gavin Hill »

I love my Revolution Country Explorer and it did me proud on my recent successful JOGLE.

But we are just about to introduce the CTW scheme at work and I want to keep touring, so I am very tempted to go for a better touring bike.

I like the look of the following:

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/ridgeback/panorama-2011-touring-bike-ec025129?utm_source=froogle&utm_medium=froogle&utm_campaign=froogle

http://www.pearsoncycles.co.uk/store/product/29742/Pearson-Compass-Red-17%22/

Both receive good reviews and are a similiar price. So which is the better bike?

(Although if I go this way I will really miss my current BB7 disc brakes! )
The Mechanic

Re: Ridgeback Panorama vs Pearson Compass

Post by The Mechanic »

I have no experience of either of these bikes but someone in our CTC group has the Ridgeback and it looks like a cracking bike. It also has a better frame than the Pearson (725 v 631). I think you know where this is leading...
Cancer changes your outlook on life. Change yours before it changes you.
tooley92

Post by tooley92 »

The Mechanic wrote:I have no experience of either of these bikes but someone in our CTC group has the Ridgeback and it looks like a cracking bike. It also has a better frame than the Pearson (725 v 631). I think you know where this is leading...

The most important thing with 631 & 725 frames is to check what the rear triangle is made from, as 631 stays don't exist and 725 are very expensive (often 525 stays are used).
Remember folks 'A pessimist is just an optimist with experience!'
The Mechanic

Post by The Mechanic »