Security while you camp

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
devans

Security while you camp

Post by devans »

Hi all,

If you're camping solo, how do you keep your bike secure? I've seen plenty of threads where people suggest leaving your bike outside (albeit tied to the tent etc)

Aren't your bikes getting pinched left right and centre?

I'm just getting into cycling and want to do some solo touring - camping seems like the easy option but I can't help worry about my lovely Claud....

Any advice gratefully received..! :?
eileithyia

Post by eileithyia »

Don't worry too much about it, the British countryside is not littered with gangs of roving thieves seeking to pinch an odd bike from a campsite at night time.
There are easier pickings elsewhere. A simple lock will keep the opportunist at bay, ie they cannot just walk off with your bike in order to use it as transport home from the local.
Bike thieves target much easier pickings ie races/events/ and the bike cafe where there is a lot of choice piled up outside.

Only problem I ever had on tour was when my saddle and front wheel were nicked from Copehnagen YH bike shed, large city YH, say no more.
I stand and rejoice everytime I see a woman ride by on a wheel the picture of free, untrammeled womanhood. HG Wells
Ambermile

Post by Ambermile »

I agree, the hordes of opportunist tealeaves mostly do not hang around campsites (except in some of the receptions). I also doubt that wild camping would attract them to your pride and joy since you will most likely be in the midle of nowhere - too far for them to drag their little bods!

A couple of cable locks, however seemingly flimsy, is enough of a deterrent though should the worst happen and your bike become an object of desire.

Arthur
I make stuff, that's all.
MLJ

Post by MLJ »