st malo to narbonne

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
prjw

st malo to narbonne

Post by prjw »

hello i'm fairly new to cycling and have decided to have a go travelling down to the med from st malo as i have a month spare. I am in reasonable shape for my age (54) and intend camping along the way. I have a few concerns and would appreciate any feedback.

1) is there a fairly easy way to get to nantes and to the atlantic coast which isn't too hilly and straightforward direction wise ?

2) should I be overly concerned regarding security for my bike at campsites ?

3) I've got a touring bike ; will this be suitable for the routes ( I intend following the gironde canal to toulouse and then the canal du midi )

Any other tips !
Thanks
matt_twam_asi

Post by matt_twam_asi »

I wouldn't recommend taking your bike on the canal du midi - whilst there are often (but not always!) towpaths alongside, they are often crisscrossed by the roots of the plain trees running alongside - here's a pic of what I mean:

There's a good description of what you'd be up against here

The trail was all gravel and dirt. It was also rough and bumpy and surfaced with some fine gritty crushed rock most of the way. I found the signage difficult to follow. Making a long story short, it is a great location for a trail, but it needs work before I would consider it a good trail to use with a touring bike.

I've cycled it on an atb, but even with that it was slow going - you have to keep your eyes glued to the floor for those tree roots, so won't be seeing much of the beautiful countryside!

Basically you'd do much better to stick to the roads. :)

I'm afraid I can't help with the other queries, as only really know the area between Carcassonne and Narbonne.
JJF

st malo to narbonne

Post by JJF »

For the first leg of your journey from St Malo to Nantes I suggest the following to Rennes.