6 months in Western Europe - complete beginner

Cycle-touring, Expeditions, Adventures, Major cycle routes NOT LeJoG (see other special board)
gospo1

6 months in Western Europe - complete beginner

Post by gospo1 »

Hello Everyone.

I Have some serious trip planned next year, start in either april or may start in france in Dunkirk and then going round some other countries, street playing instruments in each town/city. Sleeping wild in tent

I post in here as i am complete beginner and i am sure many of you have a great deal of experience wich i would be very very gratefull for. I am complete beginner no previous experience with touring and really with cycling since i was a kid. I am 29 now.
Generally healthy and well fit.

I got some questions wich i need to ask someone but dont know anyone. So please help :) Thank You!

So i am going for at least 6 months during summer period.

1. I got two options
-1- france, spain, portugal, france
2 - france, belgium, holland, danmark and germany or sweden
basically west or east any suggestions?

2 . Bike , i need a bike wich is quite easy to maintain and ready to go as dont have much previous technical knowlege.
I Seen Cinelli Bootleg Hobo 2015

http://www.evanscycles.com/products/cin ... oCkVfw_wcB

wich resonates with me very well. seem to be perfect choice, and it fit to my budget bracket ideally. It costs 1350 and thats ok with me, I could possibly spend about 1600 at most for a bike.
Also note it is to be used for more than one year as i dont think i will be back to working lifestyle anymore. It will become my home for some time i feel.

So 1600 is my max - it is bike only without eqiuipment. I preffer new more than used but also advise on that

Any suggestions anyone? Will i get bike good enough for this price?

3. GPS - Do i need one or get paper map? it seems to be very very handy to have cycling gps. If yes wich